Dreamers : The principles of dreaming

Go after your  dreams, no matter how unattainable others think it is ~Linda Mastandrea

DSC_0754DSC_0749DSC_0753DSC_0752DSC_0750

DSC_0760

Photography Credits : Hlengiwe Dlamini of @the_canvas_co

Outfit details:

Dress: Mr Price // Shoes : Asos // Legging : Primark // Bag : Present // Earring : Truworths//  Glasses : Accesorize // Anklet : Klines //

Sometime last week a person close to me said something very hurtful and mean as a low blow because I didn’t agree with their outlook on life. They said I chose a lousy career and because of my stubbornness I will never succeed in life. My normal response  to this kind of thing is to lash out in anger but I took a step back and looked at where it was coming from and why a person I care about would say something so hurtful to me. The reality of the world we live in is that people will not understand your dream and that’s ok. It is your duty to protect it and understand that there will be those people who won’t understand you. Sometimes in fact you will be your only cheer leader and you will have doubts. People who will tell you that you are wasting your time.

I know at my age a lot of people would look at my life and see failure and stagnation because according to them I am not where I am supposed to be or who they want me to be. I accepted a while back that I am a person that carves her own path. Regardless of what people think or say. My goals stop for no one.

This post is for people like me who are dreamers. The world is full of naysayers.  Now I will not be advising you not to listen to people. Please do. Especially people who are older than you .However at the end of the day it is your life. You are responsible for you and how your life turns out.

Telling people to dream without the giving them the principles of dreaming is irresponsible. When we dream we always think about the dream when it is actualised. How we will feel when we reach our end goal. It is that picture of your dream being actualized that will keep you going so always keep it in your mind.

Before following your dreams please bear in mind that it is a lonely and difficult road. Be prepared to fail a lot. Failure is part of the journey. It is how you will learn. My motto is fail fast and redirect. Failure is not the end it is merely a detour. DO NOT GIVE UP.  I think the most important thing really is to question your motives. What is your end goal? What is it you want to achieve? And importantly who are you doing it for.

Following your dreams means being honest and flexible with yourself.  You need to ask yourself some tough questions. Do you have the capability to do the thing that you want to do? Be ready to make sacrifices especially with your time. Sometimes you may not be able to go out or sleep early building your dream.  You need to spend time developing your craft.

Be ready to put your money where your mouth is.  This is probably one of the most important things I have to say. Do not expect anyone to  give you money to achieve your dream especially in the beginning. Be ready to save up and put your own money into developing your dream.

Be passionate about what you are doing. If you have no passion then how will you keep going when everything is going wrong. Passion is your driving force and believe me you will need it.

Tiwi’s Tips on dreaming:

Be open to learning

Your dream doesn’t stay stagnant it will grow and it can sometimes change. Be flexible and open-minded about what you are doing.

You don’t have to explain yourself to anyone. Protect your dream jealously.

Work every day towards achieving your goals. Baby steps forward are still steps in the right direction.

Passion is your driving force. It will keep the fire burning when everything else is going wrong.

Talk to people chasing a similar dream to yours. You will learn something new and you can help each other.

I hope this post will motivate someone out there. i will be doing more of these posts because I feel more connected with them.

Love and Light

Tiwi

Leave a Reply

