My Vintage Love Affair Lookbook

 

If you have been reading my posts long enough you will know that I have a love affair with vintage. Yes my name is Tiwonge Gondwe and I am addicted to retro and vintage clothing and accessories.

Today’s lookbook is all about modernizing vintage and retro pieces.  I love vintage clothing because they make me unique. I love to stand out and own my look and this is one original way I can do this.

So Today I picked 4 outfits to demonstrate how to bring vintage into 2016. The 80s wedding dress, a tea dress with shoulder  pads, pleats and mixed print and colour, a vintage shirt , a 80s/90s men’s vintage tshirt and a man’s denim shirt.

1. The Vintage shirt.

This is like a beginner’s introduction to vintage clothing. A vintage shirt is the simplest way of incorporating vintage clothing into your style.  If you want to stand out go for a distinctively vintage shirt. Something you can’t get in shops today.  I decided to go for the tied up crop top look with mine. This is an outfit I’d wear  when I feel like being more than just casual.

 

2. The 80s Wedding dress

I got this dress at the Manzini flea market for R10. It is quite oversized. I fell in love with the lace on the sleeves and the layers of  the dress. The easiest way to wear an oversized vintage dress is to add a belt to it. I paired my 80s wedding dress with a white skinny belt from MR price. This outfit is something I would wear for a night out, a date or a get together.  I call it the 80s rework.  To bring the 80s into 2016 I paired the dress with my statement crocodile earrings, a statement clutch bag and my toe cleavage floral print court shoes. Adding this many colorful accessories works with this outfit because it is a white dress.

 

3. Menswear

I took a man’s  tshirt and denim button down shirt and turned it into the perfect edgy/chic outfit. This outfit is quite and 80s meets the early 90s look. It is something I’d wear every day and it is bang on trend. To casual it down even further I’d pair it with plimsoles or trainers.  To dress it up just add heels  and a classy little bag. Simple.

4. The 80s Shift Dress

This is my favourite dress. I love it.  It is versatile and I have worn it for presentations, meetings, events and I am working on styling it as a day dress because I love it so much. Every girl needs a vintage dress they can pull out of their closet everyday. To add that modern twist to this dress I paired them with my futuristic block heels. The earrings and glasses give it that added twist of vintage.

I hope you have enjoyed this post. As usual my lovely pictures were taken by Hlengiwe Dlamini from @the_canvas_co

Have a lovely weekend.

Love and Light

Tiwi

Leave a Reply

